The IRVIN L. CLYMER was built in 1917 at the American Ship Building Company in Lorain, Ohio. She had a crew of 16. She was 552 feet long with a 60 ft. beam and a 32 ft. draft. Launched as the self-unloader CARL D. BRADLEY (1) for the Great Lakes Fleet, she made her maiden voyage from Lorain, Ohio, to Calcite, MI, on June 10, 1917, for a load of stone. She sailed under that name until 1927, when she was renamed JOHN G. MUNSON (1).
In 1951, she was again renamed IRVIN L. CLYMER. She was scrapped at Azcon in Duluth in 1994 when the pilothouse was salvaged by a private party and unloaded at the end of the Duluth Timber Pier where it sits today. Duluth was the Clymer’s home port for many years and had a nickname of the “Whiner Clymer.”
Despite being built over a century ago, the IRVIN L. CLYMER had a long and successful career on the Great Lakes, transporting various cargoes such as iron ore, stone, coal, and grain to ports all over the region. Her sturdy structure and dependable performance made her a favorite among her crew and a reliable vessel for her owners. Even after her retirement and eventual scrapping, the salvaged pilothouse remains a testament to her enduring legacy as a workhorse of the Great Lakes shipping industry.